Cardi B was named Songwriter of the Year at the 2019 ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards held at the Beverly Wilshire Four Seasons Hotel on Thursday, June 20, in Beverly Hills, California.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) celebrated its unparalleled roster of music legends, past and present, at the 34th annual ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards. Thursday night’s event, which is part of the big BET Weekend, recognized special honorees and the songwriters and publishers of the most-performed ASCAP songs of the past year on the R&B/hip-hop, rap and gospel charts.

Chart-topping rapper Cardi B took home the ASCAP Songwriter of the Year Award for the first time. The honor recognizes the songwriter who has written or co-written the greatest number of most-performed songs of the year. Cardi B took the music world by storm with her 2017 breakthrough “Bodak Yellow” and continued to dominate the charts with hits such as “Bartier Cardi” (ft. 21 Savage), “Ring (ft. Kehlani),” “I Like It” and more.

Quality Control CEOs Coach K, left, and Pierre “Pee” Thomas, right, co-presented the ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Heritage Award to current Motown President Ethiopia Habtemariam.

Legendary Motown founder Berry Gordy also received the Heritage Award for his historic contributions to R&B music. The award honors ASCAP members who have had a major impact on the legacy of rhythm and soul music.

Motown was the presenting sponsor of the 2019 ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Awards. Other sponsors included CÎROC, Fender and M.A.C. makeup.

Trap music pioneer, actor and activist Tip “T.I.” Harris took the stage as the first-ever recipient of the ASCAP Voice of the Culture Award, presented by noted political commentator, analyst and advocate Angela Rye, for T.I.’s activism and leadership on social media. The new honor celebrates an ASCAP member who has had a major influence on music and culture.

T.I. shared his accomplishment with his wife, Tameka “Tiny” Harris and his youngest daughter, Heiress Harris, 3.

The complete list of 2019 ASCAP R&S Awards winners is available here.

Photos by Michael Tran/FilmMagic, Paras Griffin/Getty Images, Leon Bennett/Getty Images, Lester Cohen/Getty Images for ASCAP