Donald Trump

President Donald Trump signed a new executive order on Monday to replace the travel ban that is currently ensnared in political gridlock in federal courts. The new travel ban reinforces President Trump’s mission to protect Americans (and legal residents) and keep us from harm.

In a press conference to announce the EO, Attorney General Jeff Sessions said the new travel ban would not affect green card holders or Visa holders. “The United States has a right to control who enters our country and to keep out those who would do us harm,” he said.

The new travel ban imposes a 90-day suspension on entry to potential terrorists from terror-linked countries, including Iran, Syria, Somalia, Libya, Sudan and Yemen. Iraq was left out of the new executive order.

Sessions said 3 of the banned countries are “state sponsors of terrorism” where governments have lost control of their territories to terrorist groups.

“We cannot compromise out nation’s security by allowing visitors entry when their own governments are unable or unwilling to provide information we need to vet them responsibly… or when those governments actively support terrorism”.

Sessions added that the new executive order — just as the first travel ban — “is a lawful and proper exercise of presidential authority consistent with the core principals of our constitution”.

The new travel ban gives airports 10 days before the ban is implemented to avoid the chaos and confusion that travelers faced during the the first EO roll out on Jan. 27.

Secretary of State Rex Tillerson explained the new travel ban improves the screening and vetting process to keep terrorists out.

This is an open post where you can discuss any subject matter. This post will not be censored or moderated. Disqus may automatically moderate certain words considered offensive. There are no rules in Open Posts. So enter at your own risk.